Southern California Broadcasters Association Scholarship Fund

Meet our Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to Alesha Gilliam (right), the recipient of SCBA's 2014 Stan Spero Radio Broadcasting Award at Cal State Fullerton. Alesha is pursuing a Major in Entertainment Studies and a Minor in Radio/Film/TV. She also volunteers as a DJ for Titan Internet Radio and hosts an hour long radio show “For Your Entertainment.” She holds the top ranking radio talk show on the station bringing in audiences from all across Southern California.

Gina Harris is the winner of the 2014 George Nicholaw Radio Broadcasting Award at Pasadena City College and is pursuing a Major in Radio and Television Operations/Production. She is active in PCC’s Lancer Radio and has received Faculty Honors for Superior Leadership in Audio.

Brandon Lang is the winner of the 2013 Stan Spero Radio Broadcasting Award at Cal State Fullerton. Brandon has spent the last 4 years studying the radio industry and works at Cal State Fullerton’s Titan Radio as technical director. He is also responsible for running the audio/visual aspects of numerous on-campus events. Upon graduating, Brandon will pursue a career as a technical director and one day hopes to be general manager of a radio station.



Jacqueline Iniga will receive the 2013 Ben Hoberman Radio Broadcasting Award at Cal State Los Angeles. Jacqueline is studying Broadcast Journalism and is a first generation Hispanic single mother with a career objective of becoming a Radio Announcer.



Andrew Louie is the recipient of the 2013 George Nicholaw Radio Broadcasting Award at Pasadena City College and currently works for the school's Lancer Radio as a Play By Play Sports Announcer, Host, Producer and Board Operator for various programs. Andrew is interested in continuing his goal of becoming an Announcer with the Lakers once he graduates.



The Southern California Broadcasters Association Scholarship Fund, managed by the California Community Foundation, awards three scholarships annually in the field of Radio Broadcast Communications.


Ben Hoberman Radio Broadcasting Award: $1000

California State University, Los Angeles


George Nicholaw Radio Broadcasting Award:  $500

Pasadena City College


Stan Spero Radio Broadcasting Award:  $500

California State University, Fullerton


Preference is given to students majoring in Radio Broadcast Communications. Selection is not based solely on GPA, but may also be based on other factors, such as commitment to and promise in broadcasting, service to the school and community, or other criteria that the faculty or scholarship committee considers appropriate. Students enrolled in these schools who wish to apply for the scholarships should contact the scholarship committee chair for the current requirements and application deadline.


If, at any time, you wish to make a donation to the fund, please make your check payable to the California Community Foundation. In the memo section of your check, please note the award (i.e. Stan Spero Award if specific, or just SCBA Scholarship Fund). You can mail your check directly to the foundation in Los Angeles:


California Community Foundation

445 S. Figueroa Street

Suite 3400

Los Angeles, CA 90071


Or you may send your check to the SCBA, made out to the California Community Foundation, and we will forward it for you.


Donations are tax deductible. Donations of $250 or more will receive a letter of acknowledgement from the CCF. Otherwise, please keep your canceled check as record of your contribution.


Southern California Broadcasters Association White Paper Report

Home page
Get Acrobat Reader
Copyright © 2019 SCBA and MediaSpan
Part of the MediaSpan Network